Scientific Leadership Prize

The Scientific Leadership Prize is awarded to world-leading scientists in sub-Saharan Africa up to 50 years of age working on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and neglected infectious diseases (NID) in the scope of the EDCTP2 programme.

Objective of the prize

The prize recognizes scientists who have made significant achievements in their field and will continue to become leaders in their research field. In addition to their scientific excellence, the contestants should have made major contributions to the objectives of the EDCTP2 programme to strengthen research capacity in sub-Saharan Africa and to support South-South and North-South networking.

This prize of €10,000 should be used to further the research programme of the awardee and may support activities towards training and mentorship of the future generation of researchers in Africa.

2018 Scientific Leadership Prize recipient: Prof. Keertan Dheda

Professor Keertan Dheda (Head of the Centre for Lung Infection and Immunity and Head of the Division of Pulmonology at Groote Schuur Hospital and the University of Cape Town, South Africa) received the Scientific Leadership Prize.



Prof. Tanner, Prof. Keertan Dheda, Dr Simão

Professor Keertan Dheda's research work has focused on the epidemiology, diagnosis, and transmission of tuberculosis. He has made seminal contributions to the field of TB, has an outstanding publications record and is the recipient of several prestigious awards including the International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease Scientific Award.

Previous recipient (2016):

Professor Shabir A. Mahdi http://www.edctp.org/prizes/edctp-awards-2016-recipients/