## **Outstanding Female Scientist Prize**

The Outstanding Female Scientist Prize is awarded to world-leading female scientists in sub-Saharan Africa working on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and neglected infectious diseases (NID) in the scope of the EDCTP2 programme.

## **Objective of the prize**

The prize is awarded to female scientists who have made a significant scientific contribution and built measurable impactful research capacity through training and mentorship for the future generation of researchers/scientists in Africa.

The prize consists of a recognition trophy and a cash prize of  $\leq 20,000$ . The prize of  $\leq 20,000$  shall be used to further the research programme of the awardee and may support activities towards training and mentorship of the future generation of researchers in Africa.

## 2018 Outstanding Female Scientist Prize recipient: Prof. Gita Ramjee

The 2018 Outstanding Female Scientist prize was awarded to Professor Gita Ramjee, Chief Specialist Scientist and Director of the HIV Prevention Research Unit of the South African Medical Research Council, Durban, South Africa.



Dr Simão, Prof. Gita Ramjee, Prof. Tanner

Prof. Ramjee obtained her science degree at the University of Sunderland in the United Kingdom and her Masters and PhD through the Department of Paediatrics at the University of KwaZulu-Natal in Durban. She has extensive experience in HIV prevention methods for women and investigated women-initiated HIV prevention options since many years. She also conducted large-scale trials of antiretroviral-based oral and topical prophylaxis. Her excellence in clinical research and capacity building brought her the Life Time achievement award in HIV prevention by a panel of international peers. She was also a recipient of the South African MRC Gold award given for scientific excellence. On 31 March 2020 Professor Gita Ramjee passed away. We have lost a dear and formidable colleague in the fight against infectious diseases.

Previous recipient (2016):

Professor Marleen Temmerman <a href="http://www.edctp.org/prizes/edctp-awards-2016-recipients/">http://www.edctp.org/prizes/edctp-awards-2016-recipients/</a>