AUSTRALIAN SOCIETY FOR BIOCHEMISTRY AND MOLECULAR BIOLOGY INC <u>Minutes from 68th Annual General Meeting</u>

The 68th Annual General Meeting of the Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Inc. was held from 17:00-17:28 hours (AEDST) on Wednesday 25th September 2024 in Rm 212, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Melbourne, VIC.

A quorum was reached with 30 members in attendance.

1. Dominic Ng (Secretary) chaired proceedings and began with Acknowledgement of Country.

2. Confirmation of the minutes of Annual General Meeting No 67.

Motion to put forward the minutes of 67th AGM for confirmation by Kate Quinlan and seconded by Marc Kvansakul. The minutes were confirmed and noted.

3. **President's Report**

Ross Hannan (President) delivered the President's Report and began with thanks to Council Members for their contributions in keeping the society running. Special thanks to outgoing treasurer, Kate Quinlan and a warm welcome to incoming treasurer, Adrian Achuthan. Ross provided an update on membership numbers which have increased steadily over recent years helped by introduction of 3-year memberships. Membership numbers were not negatively impacted by the shift to biannual ComBio with ASBMB only meetings. Membership will be further bolstered by good turnout for BMH2024. Leann Tilley and her committee were congratulated for organizing a highly successful meeting with strong registrant attendance. 50 year members were acknowledged including Prof Ray J Rose, Prof Phillip Kuchel and Prof Les Copeland, the later in attendance at BMH2024.

An update was provided on future upcoming meetings including ASBMB 2025 in Brisbane (29th Sept – 1st Oct 2025, Michael Landsberg convenor) and ComBio2026 in Sydney (28th Sept – 2nd Oct 2026, Tracy Bryan and Mark Larance co-convenors) with planning well underway and progressing well. Ross then emphasized the importance of being active in the Asia-pacific as regional partners are increasingly able to access funding opportunities to build international linkages. Updates were provided on currently activities to partner with Korean (KSBMB) and Japanese (MBSJ) counterparts in co-organizing meetings as a mechanism for researcher exchange. This includes joint ASBMB-ARNA and MBSJ symposium on RNA in Fukuoka in 2024 and KSBMB-ASBMB symposium and satellite meetings at the 31st FAOBMB Congress in Busan in 2025. Ross concluded by reemphasizing a major goal of the society to assist the career development of early and midcareer members particularly in the face of difficult higher education funding environment. This includes providing awards, travel support and cost-effective opportunities for EMCR members to present and network at meetings and experience in conference organization. Ross concluded with thanking members for the privilege of serving as president and welcomed Megan Maher's tenure as the incoming president of the society.

4. Treasurer's Report

The following summary of ASBMB's financial position was presented by Kate Quinlan, ASBMB National Treasurer.

Overall financial position of the Society remained stable over the last financial year.

- Revenue and expenses were both up in 2023-4 due to the ASBMB2023 conference as this was run out of ASBMB financial accounts rather than those of a professional organizer.
- ASBMB only meetings are unlikely to be a major driver of income for the society -Canberra ASBMB2023 broke even
- ComBio 2022 drove the surplus in the 2022/23 financial year while interest payments drove the surplus in 2023/4
- Secretariat services were moved from Sally and Chris Jay to WALDRONSMITH at the start of 2023. This has led to a significant decrease in National Office costs

2023-2024 financial year showed an operating profit of \$21,603 2022-2023 financial year showed an operating profit of \$34,984. 2021-2022 financial year showed an operating profit of \$7,540.

Retained surplus increased from \$448,214 to \$469,817

We need to sustain or increase membership base and to ensure both the long-term viability and profitability of Combio/ASBMB meetings

Thanks to Mark Andreassen at Priestleys, Ian Price, Sally & Chris Jay, Sarah Parsons and Gerard Halpin from WALDRONSMITH and fellow members of the executive.

Kate Quinlan thanked the society as outgoing treasurer stepping down at end of 2024.

5. Fees for 2021/2022

Membership fees for the year 1 July 2025 to 30 June 2026 3.8% CPI Increase

	2024/25		2025/2026	
	1 yr	3 yr	1 yr	3 yr
Ordinary Members:	\$153	\$369	\$159	\$383
Student Members:	\$45	\$100	\$45	\$100
Sustaining Members:	\$446	\$1,070	\$463	\$1,111
Retired Members:	\$69	\$158	\$72	\$164
Member O/S:	\$74	\$177	\$77	\$184

Membership fees were increased to keep pace with inflation with the exception of student rates. A motion to apply the above fees for next membership cycle put forward by Stephanie Gras and seconded by Terry Piva. The motion was confirmed and passed.

6. Elections to Council

A single nomination was received for the position of Treasurer and members welcomed Adrian Achuthan to council. Red text highlight new members of ASBMB Council for 2025. Thanks were given for the service of retiring Council Members.

President Megan Maher Past-President Ross Hannan

President-Elect TBD

Secretary Dominic Ng

Treasurer Adrian Achuthan (Kate Quinlan retiring)

Editor and Communications Tatiana Soares da Costa

Education Rep Tracey Kuit
Secretary for Sust. Members Sarah Parsons

FAOBMB Representative Marc Kvansakul

Representatives for:

ACT Chathura Suraweera

NSW Tara Christie
Qld Conan Wang
SA Michael Roach
Tas Adele Holloway
Vic Sarah Stewart

WA Alyssa Van Dreumel

7. ASBMB Awards 2024.

Congratulations were given to society award winners:

Lemberg Medal: Anthony Weiss Shimadzu Research Medal: Thomas Ve

Eppendorf Edman Award: Praveena Thirunavukkarasu

SDR Scientific Education Award: Julian Pakay

ASBMB Fellowships Awards: Sai Chitti (Fred Collins), Yuliia Didan, Jascinta

Santavanond, Abhimanu Pandey

Student Merit Awards (Bursary) 25 recipients from WA, QLD, NSW, ACT and SA.

Members were advised that the value of ASBMB Fellowships for 2025 onwards were increased to \$4000 (\$5000 including Fred Collins award) to support ECR travel. Members were encouraged to apply for 2025 awards with nominations due by 31st October 2024.

8. Amendments to Constitution and By-Laws

To further support student members, council members agreed to increase the number of available student poster awards at our annual meeting from 6 to 10. This requires a slight change to our By-Laws:

Clause 2 Annual Scientific Conferences

(g) Postgraduate student poster awards: Up to six ten awards (see Appendix II) will be made for the best posters presented by Student Members of the Society at each Annual Conference.

In addition, the following change to Appendix II of our By-Laws will reflect the increased value of ASBMB fellowships ratified by ASBMB Council.

APPENDIX II

CURRENT SCHEDULE OF FEES AND MONETARY VALUES

ASBMB Fellowships [clause 3(f)]: \$2,500 \$4000 each, plus registration at the Annual Conference of the Society.

A motion to accept changes to By-Laws was proposed by Tatiana Soares da Costa and seconded by Marc Kvansakul.

The motion was confirmed and passed.

8. Any other business.

No other business was raised.

The meeting was adjourned at 17:28.
Ross Hannan (President)
DOMINIC NG (Secretary)