



Monday 9 September - Hotel Realm Canberra	
11.00 am – 12.00 noon	Special Open Session – MCA Fatality Prevention Project
	Sharing 25 years of data with industry, highlighting control priorities to reduce workplace fatalities
	Venue: High Courtyard North
12.00 noon – 12.30 pm	Light lunch available
	Venue: Conference Floor
12.30 pm – 5.00 pm	Committee Meetings – MCA Committee Members Only
	Venue: National Ballrooms
6.30 pm – 10.30 pm	Australian Minerals Industry Parliamentary Dinner
	Venue: Great Hall, Parliament House

Tuesday 10 September – National Ballroom, Hotel Realm Canberra		
12.45 pm – 1.30 pm	MW registration and lunch	
1.30 pm – 1.40 pm	Welcome address Tania Constable PSM Chief Executive Officer Minerals Council of Australia	
1.40 pm – 2.20 pm	Keynote address + discussion Reorienting Australia for the future Dr Paul Kelly Editor-at-Large The Australian Gerhard Veldsman (facilitator) Chief Executive Officer Roy Hill	



Keynote address + panel discussion



2.20 pm - 3.30 pm

	Asia and Australasia in a changing world: Implications for Australia and its resources		
	Keynote: HE Mr Kazuhiro Suzuki Ambassador of Japan to Australia Embassy of Japan in Australia		
	Geraldine Slattery (introduction) President, Australia BHP		
	Panel: Professor the Hon Bob Carr Longest serving Premier of NSW & former Foreign Minister of Australia		
	Dr Geoff Raby AO Chairman Geoff Raby & Associates		
	Dennis Richardson AC Former Ambassador of Australia to the United States Former Secretary, Department of Defence & Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade		
	Jennifer Hewett (facilitator) National Affairs Columnist Australian Financial Review		
	Afternoon Tea		
3.45 pm – 4.30 pm	In conversation		
	Australasia in a changing world		
	The Hon Richard Marles MP Deputy Prime Minister Minister for Defence		
	Amanda Lacaze (facilitator) CEO & Managing Director Lynas Rare Earths		
4.30 pm – 5.15pm	Panel discussion + Minerals+ Report Launch		
	How do we unearth a future made in Australia?		
	Michael Brennan CEO E61 Institute		
<u> </u>			





	Professor Richard Holden Professor of Economics UNSW
	Professor Alex Robson Deputy Chair Productivity Commission
	Paul Richards (facilitator) Global Head of Resources, Energy & Infrastructure ANZ
5.15 pm	Close day 1
	David Parker Executive Director, Western Australia Minerals Council of Australia
6.30 pm – 9.30 pm	BHP Women in Resources National Awards 2024 Venue: National Arboretum, Canberra

Wednesday 11 September - National Ballroom, Hotel Realm Canberra **Resources Minister breakfast** 7.30 am - 8.45 am Securing strategic supply chains Keynote: The Hon Madeleine King MP Minister for Resources; Minister for Northern Australia Tom Palmer (introduction) President & Chief Executive Newmont Panel: HE Mr Gopal Baglay High Commissioner of India to Australia High Commission of India The Hon Madeleine King MP Minister for Resources; Minister for Northern Australia HE Mr Gabriele Visentin EU Ambassador to Australia Delegation of the European Union to Australia





	Chris Uhlmann (facilitator) Journalist Sky News & The Australian
	Coffee break
9.30 am – 10.00 am	Keynote + Q&A Environmental approvals: Balancing global and local environmental imperatives The Hon Tanya Plibersek MP Minister for the Environment and Water Suzy Retallack (facilitator) Executive Vice President & Chief Sustainability Officer Newmont
10.10 am – 10.40 am	Keynote address Senator Susan McDonald Shadow Minister for Resources; Shadow Minister for Northern Australia Senator for Queensland Paul Flynn (facilitator) Managing Director & CEO Whitehaven Coal
	Morning Tea
11.00 am – 11.45 am	Leader of the Opposition address The Hon Peter Dutton MP Leader of the Opposition Earl Melamed (facilitator) Head of Global Coal Assets Glencore
11.45am - 12.45pm	Panel discussion Towards a circular economy: Driving value from circularity in the minerals industry Kristy Graham CEO Australian Sustainable Finance Institute





	Associate Professor Anita Parbhakar-Fox Group Leader, Mine Waste Transformation through Characterisation University of Queensland
	Romilly Madew AO CEO Engineers Australia
	Christina Tonkin (facilitator) Managing Director, Corporate Finance ANZ Banking Group
Lunch	
1.30 pm – 2.15 pm	In conversation
	Moving through engagement to economic opportunities: Australian mining grows Indigenous businesses
	Senator Kerrynne Liddle Shadow Minister for Child Protection and the Prevention of Family Violence Senator for South Australia
	The Hon Ken Wyatt AM Former Minister for Indigenous Australians
	Brad Welsh (facilitator) Chief Executive & Managing Director Energy Resources of Australia
2.15 pm – 3.15 pm	Panel discussion
	The yottabyte revolution: Implications for Australian mining
	Maki Ikeda Head of Innovation BHP
	Tim Morris CEO & Founder Agentsy
	Mike Waller General Manager, Technology & Information Management Atlas Iron
	David Gribble (facilitator) Vice President, Product & Technology Dyno Nobel





Afternoon Tea		
3.30 pm – 4.30 pm	Panel discussion	
	Least cost decarbonised energy for industry: How do we get there?	
	Dr Geoff Bongers Executive Consultant Gamma Energy Technology	
	Assoc Professor Edward Obbard	
	Director UNSW Nuclear Innovation Centre	
	Tony Wood AM Energy and Climate Change Program Director Grattan Institute	
	Tim Weber 100% Renewable Energy Team Australian National University	
	Cassandra McCarthy (facilitator) Head of Corporate Affairs, Australia Glencore	
4.30 pm	Closing address Sid Marris Deputy Chief Executive Officer Minerals Council of Australia	